Who will win FIFA Ballon d’Or 2016 Award – Ronaldo or Messi?

Who will win FIFA Ballon d’Or 2016 Award – Ronaldo or Messi?: Luis Figo former FIFA World player of the year and great Portuguese player said that Cristiano Ronaldo may beat Lionel Messi for Ballon d’Or 2016 to receive his 4th Ballon d’Or. He also said that any player from Barcelona could also win the trophy. No. 7 Ronaldo has won the award in last 2 years while Barcelona’s Messi had won it 4 times in a row. Ronaldo won the first Ballon d’Or in 2008. This pair of Ronaldo and Messi has been nominated 7 times in a row for Ballon d’Or Top 3 nominees. This time, another Barca player Neymar also shortlisted for 2015 award.

Cristiano has scored highest no of goals in 2015 season more than Messi and Neymar in all Top 5 leagues of Europe. Luis Figo believes that this no. can give an edge to Ronaldo to win the Ballon d’Or 2016.

Who will win Ballon d'Or 2015 - Ronaldo or Messi?

Who will win Ballon d’Or 2016 – Ronaldo or Messi?

In this year, Ronaldo also overtakes his Club Real Madrid all-time high goal scorer Raul. If Ronaldo wins the Ballon d’Or 2015 although he is second favorite as Real Madrid didn’t win any trophy in 2015. On the other hand, Barcelona won 5 trophy’s in a year – La Liga, Uefa Champions League, Uefa Super Cup, Copa Del Rey and Fifa Club World Cup 2015 in Dec.

If trophy’s go to the player of winning team then either Messi or Neymar could win the 2015 Ballon d’Or and if the individual votes count is taken and no. of Goals scored to see then Ronaldo could win.

Till now in 2015-16 season for the club, Ronaldo has scored 21 Goals. while in last season, he scored 66 Goals fro Club and national team which adds to 87 Goals in 2015. While Messi has scored 14 Goals with the injury in this season and 62 goals in the last season and his total becomes 76 Goals in 2015. The 3rd Ballon d’Or Nominee Neymar scored 18 Goals in 2015 and 48 in the 2014-15 season and his total becomes 66.

The voting for FIFA Ballon d’Or will be done by the captains and head coaches of each men’s national team with international media representatives selected by French publication France Football.

The FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala takes place in Zurich on Jan 11, 2016.