T20 World Cup 2016 Prize Money – Winners, Runners-up

T2o World Cup 2016 Prize Money for Men Increased up to 86% while for Women 122%: It will be played in India from March to April in 2016. 14 nations will be competing into two groups and finally battle for the coveted trophy. Last year’s finalists and winners of 2007 Twenty20. India will be hosting the event this year. The Men’s event will carry a total prize money of $5.6 million, which is an 86% increase from the 2014 tournament while the total prize money for the women’s event is $400,000, which is a 122% increase from the Bangladesh event.

One of the best incentives for the playing teams other than the coveted 2016 trophy and the title of World Champions; is the prize money was given to the winner, runners-up, third and fourth placed teams. Let’s have a look at the prize money for each of the previous Twenty20 competitions and the upcoming 2016 T20.

T20 World Cup 2016:

The next upcoming World T20 will be held in 2016 in India. It is yet to be seen that if ICC will increase the prize money for each winner of matches and the total prize money for the winner. This information will be known in December this year and we will be the first to post the information on our site.

ICC World Twenty20 2016 Prize Money  (Confirmed)

Winners$3.5 million
Runnerup$1.5 million
2 Losing Semi-Finalists$750,000 each
Bonus for winning every “super 10 round” match$50,000
Guaranteed Participation Bonus for all 16 teams$300,000
TOTAL$10 million

Twenty20 World Cup 2007:


The first ever World T20 was hosted by South Africa and it was played amidst big fanfare as the format was new to the audience and they were expecting fireworks in the first game itself played between host South Africa and West Indies.

And they were treated to a Chris Gayle century and a Herschelle Gibbs hurricane like 90. The tournament also saw India and Pakistan playing each other in a tied match which was decided via a bowl out. Another highlight of the first Twenty20 cup was Yuvraj Singh hitting Stuart Broad for 6 sixes in an over and scoring a 50 off just 12 balls.

India and Pakistan met again in the finals, which went down to the wire thanks to brilliant innings of Gautam Gambhir and Misbah-ul-Haq who got out in the final over, giving India the win and making them the first ever winners of  T20. India won the final and collected $490,000 in prize money.

Twenty20 2009:


The second World T20 was played in England and featured 14 teams. The defending champions India were knocked out early in the groups stage without any noticeable performance. But the surprise package of the tournament was the Pakistani team who went on to perform better than last year’s performance and won the final after Shahid Afridi’s match-winning performance. Pakistan also collected $490,000 in prize money.

Twenty20 2010:


The third World T20 was played in the Caribbean. The Caribbean fanfare was more amplified with Suresh Raina scoring India’s first ever T20 international century against South Africa. A team that surely surprised everyone was England, who have never won any ICC championship despite being playing three 50 over World Cup finals.

England reached the finals against arch rivals Australia and thanks to a brilliant 63 from Craig Kieswetter won the finals with 7 wickets, their first ICC title. Along with that, they picked up the same prize money as the previous winners.

ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2012:


ICC saw the popularity of the shorter format and decided to up the ante with increasing the prize money of 2012 T20 Cup. The World Cup was held in Sri Lanka and it started a sequence of World Cup being held in the Indian subcontinent.

This time the hosts of 2010, West Indies reached the finals in which they defeated hosts Sri Lanka by defending 137 runs with Sunil Narine picking up 3/9. West Indies won the finals and picked up $1,000,000 as winners of the T20 2012.

Here is the breakup of World T20 2012 prize money:

Winner of final – $1,000,000
Runner up – $500,000
Third and fourth – $250,000 each
Winner of Super 8 matches – $42,000 to the winner of each match
Winner of group stage matches – $20,500 to the winner of each match
TOTAL $2,750,000

World T20 2014:


Bangladesh hosted the World T20 2014 edition. The final of this competition was played between India and Sri Lanka, who had lost the last World Cup final to West Indies in 2012.

India batted first in the final played in Dhaka and could just manage 130 despite Virat Kohli’s 77. But the Sri Lankan duo of Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardena took the Sri Lankan team to their first T20 win in 2 attempts. This was their third ICC title after the 1996 World Cup, the 2002 Champions Trophy that they had shared with India.

Sri Lanka pocketed a cool $1.1 million as the T20 champions.

ICC World Twenty20 2014 Prize Money:

Winners – $ 1.1 million
Runners-up – $550,000
Semi-finalists – $275,000 to each winner
Super 10 Match – $40,000 to each winner

Men’s Prize Money:

Winner$ 1,100,000
Runner-Up$ 550,000
Semi-Finalists$ 275,000 (x2)
Group (R2) Match Win$ 40,000 (x 20 matches)

Women’s Prize Money:

Winner$ 70,000
Runner-Up$ 30,000
Semi-Finalist$ 15,000 (x2)
Group match win$ 2,500 (x20 = 50,000)