Kings XI Punjab Team Roster IPL 2016

Kings XI Punjab Team Roster IPL 2016: Kings eleven Punjab is a potential team but IPL 2015 was a disaster for them. They finished at the bottom of the table and were able to win only three matches in the whole competition. This season Kings 11 Punjab utilised the auction to grab talented players who are capable of performing well in T20 games. The worst part is that Kings XI Punjab has released the power striker Virender Sehwag.

The management has released 8 more players along with Sehwag this season. While the squad still has some popular names including David Miller, Murali Vijay, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh and Mitchell Johnson. There is a requirement for a good bowling attack which can help the team win important matches in the upcoming IPL 2016.

Kings XI Punjab Team Roster IPL 2016

IPL Auction Budget Kings XI Punjab 2016

For IPL 2016, the Kings XI Punjab management has already retained 14 players which have cost them Rs 43 crore. The budget left with them for buying new players is Rs 23 crore. The owners need to sit and act cleverly to select players who can offer that depth in the batting and bowling department.

Punjab Auction Results:

A positive side about the auctions which were held on 6th February 2016 is that the rising Indian bowler Mohit Sharma has been bought by the Kings XI. His presence would make the bowling attack quite effective. The other players which are bought this season are Armaan Jaffer, Pardeep Sahu, Marcus Stoinis, Kyle Abbott and KC Cariappa.

Kings XI Punjab Team IPL 2016

1Murali VijayMohit Sharma (6.5 crores)
2Shaun Marsh (Australia)Marcus Stoinis (55 Lakhs)
3Glenn Maxwell (Australia)Kyle Abbott (2.1 crores)
4David Miller (South Africa)KC Cariappa (80 lakhs)
5Mitchel Johnson (Australia)Armaan Jaffer  (Rs. 10 Lakh)
6Wriddhiman SahaPardeep Sahu  (Rs. 10 Lakh)
7Axer PatelSwapnil Singh (Rs. 10 Lakh)
8Shardul ShakurFarhan Behardien (Rs. 30 Lakh)
9Anureet Singh
10Gurkeerat Singh
11Manan Vohra
12Nikhil Naik
13Rishi Dhawan
14Sandeep Sharma

Expectations in IPL 2016:

The haunting of the previous season needs to be mended. The batting order comprises of Murali Vijay, Shaun Marsh, David Miller and Glenn Maxwell. On the other hand, the bowling department has been improved with the pairing of Mitchell Johnson and Mohit Sharma. The team management and coaching staff need to put in a lot of effort to finalise on a perfect squad of 11-players who can be trusted throughout the season. Kings XI Punjab needs confidence which can be attained through early victories.