ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Venues and Match Details

The next ICC T20 World Cup 2016 venues detail have been released. The World Cup will be played in India is scheduled to take place from March 11 to April 3, 2016.

Eight cities have been selected as match venues for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2016. This is the 6th edition of the T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka who won the previous edition in 2014 held in Bangladesh, by beating India in the finals, are the defending champions this time. It was also the last time Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene played T20 international matches for Sri Lanka.

Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Eden Gardens, Kolata will host the finals of the ICC World T20 on 3rd April, 2016.

The ICC T20 2016 venues are Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, Mohali, Nagpur, Dharamshala, Chennai and Kolkata. The Eden Gardens in Kolkata was also announced as the venue that will host the finals of the World T20 2016 on April 3, 2016.

Must Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2015 Qualified Teams

Eden GardensKolkata66,349
M. Chinnaswamy StadiumBangalore40,000
Wankhede StadiumMumbai32,000
M. A. Chidambaram StadiumChennai38,000
HPCA StadiumDharamshala23,000
Feroz Shah Kotla GroundNew Delhi40,715
PCA-I.S Bindra StadiumMohali26,950
VCA Stadium (Jamtha)Nagpur45,000

The BCCI has informed the TNCA (Tamil Nadu cricket association) that it has to sort out the permission issue with the municipal board for the ground’s I, J, and K stands. They may lose the hosting rights according to ICC regulations if the issue is not sorted well before the start of the tournament.

BCCI’s general manager MV Sridhar has been appointed tournament director for the World T20. Former cricketer Prasad Rao has been appointed as a manager of cricket operations while Neeraj Kumar will be Director of Security and Anti-Corruption Security Unit.

This is the first time the World T20 is being played in India, which has previously hosted high-profile ICC events like the ICC World Cup in 1987 and 2011, The ICC Champions Trophy in 2006. Also, the ICC World T20 will be played in an Asian country for the third consecutive time after Sri Lanka in 2012 and Bangladesh hosting the previous event in 2014.

Along with the top 10 full member teams, 6 of the associate member teams will be joining the tournament which will be played in 2 stages. In the first stage, the bottom ranked 2 full member teams, namely Zimbabwe and Bangladesh will play the 6 associate member teams in a qualifying round. The top two teams from the qualifying round will play in the second stage of the World Cup, the main group containing the 8 top ranked teams and 2 qualifier teams will then go on to play the main World Cup group stage.

The 10 teams will be divided into groups of 5 each and they will play each other once, with the top 2 of each group playing the top 2 in other groups in semifinals.

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru:

Capacity: 40,000

Women Matches:

  • 10 March – India v Ireland & Sri Lanka v Bangladesh
  • 12 March – Bangladesh v Ireland & Sri Lanka v India
  • March 15 – India v Bangladesh
  • March 17 – England v Bangladesh
  • March 26 – South Africa v New Zealand
  • March 28 – South Africa v Sri Lanka

Men Matches:

  • March 20 – Sri Lanka v West Indies
  • March 21 – Australia v A1
  • March 23 – India v A1

Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi:

Capacity: 42,000

  • March 15 – New Zealand v Sri Lanka (W)
  • March 19 – India v Pakistan (W)
  • March 24 – Australia v Sri Lanka (W)
  • March 24 – Pakistan v Bangladesh (W)
  • March 26 – Australia v Ireland (W)
  • March 30 – Semi-Final 1 (W)
  • March 22 – England v B1 (M)
  • March 26 – England v Sri Lanka (M)
  • March 28 – South Africa v Sri Lanka (M)
  • March 30 – SF1 (M)

PCA Stadium, Mohali:

Capacity: 26,000

  • March 22, New Zealand v Pakistan (M)
  • March 25, Australia v Pakistan (M)
  • March 27, India v Australia (M)
  • March 18, New Zealand v Ireland (W)
  • March 20, Sri Lanka v Ireland (W)
  • March 27, West Indies v India (W)

Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur:

Capacity: 40,000

  • March 8, Hong Kong v Zimbabwe (M)
  • March 8, Afghanistan v Scotland (M)
  • March 10, Scotland v Zimbabwe (M)
  • March 10, Afghanistan v Hong Kong (M)
  • March 12, Afghanistan v Zimbabwe (M)
  • March 12, Hong Kong v Scotland (M)
  • March 15, India v New Zealand Nagpur (M)
  • March 25, South Africa v West Indies (M)
  • March 27, B1 v West Indies (M)
  • March 18, Australia v South Africa (W)
  • March 21, Australia v New Zealand (W)

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai:

Capacity: 32,000

Warm-up Games:

  • 10 March – New Zealand v Sri Lanka (M)
  • 12 March – New Zealand v England (M)
  • India v South Africa (M)
  • 14 March – England v local side (M)
  • 15 March – South Africa v local side (M)

Regular Matches:

  • March 16, England v West Indies (M)
  • March 18, England v South Africa (M)
  • March 20, South Africa v B1 (M)
  • March 31, Semi-Final 2 (M) & (W)

Eden Gardens, Kolkata:

Capacity: 66,000


  • 10 March – India v West Indies (M)
  • 12 March – Pakistan v local side (M)
  • 13 March – Australia v West Indies (M)
  • 14 March – Pakistan v Sri Lanka (M)

Regular Matches:

  • March 16, Pakistan v A1 (M)
  • March 17, Sri Lanka v B1 (M)
  • March 26, A1 v New Zealand (M)
  • April 3, Final Men & Women

HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala:

Capacity: 23,000

  • March 9, Bangladesh v Netherlands (M)
  • March 9, Ireland v Oman (M)
  • March 11, Oman v Netherlands (M)
  • March 11, Bangladesh v Ireland (M)
  • March 13, Ireland v Netherlands (M)
  • March 13, Bangladesh v Oman (M)
  • March 18, Australia v New Zealand (M)
  • March 19, India v Pakistan (M)
  • March 22, England v India (W)
  • March 24, England v West Indies (W)