Gujarat Lions (Rajkot) IPL 2016 Team Squad

Gujarat Lions Rajkot IPL 2016 Team Squad. The suspension of Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings from the Indian Premier League 2016 has brought in two new teams namely Rajkot and Pune. The ‘Gujarat Lions’ is the official name chosen for the Rajkot franchise. The home ground for this team would be the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium. Both Pune and Rajkot were given an opportunity to select 5 players from Rajasthan and Chennai squads. There were in total 50 players who were available for selection. Rajkot picked up Suresh Raina by spending a huge sum of Rs 12.5 crore. He is also the captain of this fresh team. The other four draft picked players are Ravinder Jadeja, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo and James Faulkner. All these 5 players are match winners and would surely help this new team perform well in their debut IPL season.

Gujarat Lions Rajkot IPL 2016 Team Squad

Budget Rajkot IPL 2016

The management has already spent Rs 39 crore to select 5 players and they are left with Rs 27 crore to build a further squad. There is a need to acquire fast bowlers along with spinners to build a complete squad.

Auction Results Rajkot IPL 2016

The buy for Gujarat Lions in their first season of the Indian Premier League is like a blessing. The management has successfully acquired star players such as Dale Steyn, Dwayne Smith, Praveen Kumar and Karun Nair who have a good record in the IPL. The Aussie Opener Aaron Finch has also found a place in the Rajkot squad. The team looks very powerful on paper which is a threat to the other competing teams. The responsibility of the team is on the shoulders of Captain Suresh Raina who would be keen on leading his team to a victory in their first ever match of the IPL this season.

Rajkot IPL 2016 Team Squad:

1Suresh RainaRs 12.5 crore
2Ravindra JadejaRs 9.5 crores
3Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)Rs 7.5 crores
4James Faulkner  (Australia)Rs 5.5 crores
5Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)Rs 4 crores
6Dwayne Smith (New)Rs 2.3 crores
7Dale Steyn (New)Rs 2.3 crores
8Aaron Finch (New)Rs. 1 crore
9Dhawal Kulkarni (New)Rs 2 crores
10Praveen Kumar (New)Rs 3.5 crores
11Jos Buttler (New)Rs. 2.3 crores
12Karun Nair (New)Rs. 4 crores
13Paras Dogra (New)Rs. 10 lakh
14Eklavya Dwivedi (New)Rs. 1 crores
15Pradeep Sangwan (New)Rs. 20 Lakh
16PravinTambe (New)Rs. 10 Lakh
17Shivil Kaushik (New)Rs. 10 Lakh
18Sarabjeet Ladda (New)Rs. 10 Lakh
19Umang Sharma (New)Rs. 10 Lakh
20Andre Tye (New)Rs. 50 Lakh
21Shabad Jakati (New)Rs. 20 Lakh
22Akshdeep Nath (New)Rs. 10 Lakh
23Jaydev Shah  (new)Rs. 20 Lakh