Delhi Daredevils IPL 2016 Team Squad

Delhi Daredevils IPL 2016 Team Squad: Delhi Daredevils is one of the oldest teams which have survived all the eight seasons of the Indian Premier League. The team is owned by the famous infrastructure company GMR Group. Luck hasn’t been in favour of the team as they haven’t been able to lift the cup ever in the IPL. IPL 2015 was a really bad season for Delhi Daredevils as they could only manage 5 wins and were second last in the standings. The squad lacks confidence and the presence of stable performers. 14 players from last year’s squad have been retained.

JP Duminy, Albie Morkel, Amit Mishra, Zaheer Khan, Imran Tahir and Quinton de Kock are some of the famous names which are present in the Delhi Daredevils squad. The IPL 2016 auction is a very good opportunity for the management to search for a star bowler who can complete the squad.

Delhi Daredevils IPL 2016 Team Squad

Auction Budget:

The total budget available with the Delhi Daredevils this season was Rs 66 crore. Out of which they have spent some amount to retain the 14 players. The remaining budget is Rs 36.85 crore which can be utilised to buy some quality players to bring a balance in the team. A good opening pair in lacking in the Delhi Daredevils squad which should be resolved in the IPL 2016 auctions.

Auction Result 2016:

The team management has sensibly spent their budget to buy players like Sanju Samson and Chris Morris. Sanju who has performed really well with his previous team Rajasthan Royals is surely a big asset for the Delhi Daredevils. Moreover, the bowling attack is strengthened with the availability of Chris Morris. The pairing of Zaheer and Morris would surely be interesting.

Delhi Daredevils IPL 2016 Team:

1Jean-Paul Duminy (South Africa)Sanju Samson (4.2 crores)
2Albie Morkel (South Africa)Chris Morris (7 crores)
3Imran Tahir (South Africa)Carlos Braithwaite (4.2 crores)
4Quinton de Kock (South Africa)Pawan Negi (Rs. 85 lakhs)
5Nathan Coulter-Nile (Australia)Sam Billings  (Rs. 30 Lakhs)
6Travis Head (Australia)Joel Paris (Rs. 30 Lakhs)
7Amit MishraPratyush Singh (Rs. 10 Lakhs)
8Jayant YadavDelhi Daredevils (Rs. 10 Lakhs)
9Mayank AgarwalAkhil Herwadkar (Rs. 10 Lakhs)
10Mohammad ShamiMahipal Lomror (Rs. 10 Lakhs)
12Shahbaz Nadeem
13Shreyas Iyer
14Zaheer Khan

Expectations from Delhi Daredevils IPL 2016:

The current squad looks quite promising. The coaching department needs to put together the best 11 from the squad so that they can gather early winning points in the upcoming season. The new signings are very impressive and this is a good advantage for Delhi Daredevils. This season this team should surely enter the knockout stages.