Capital One/Football League Cup Winners List till 2016

Manchester City is named as the winners of 2016 Football League Cup or Capital One Cup 2016 played between Liverpool and Manchester City at Wembley stadium on 28 Feb. This is the final match of 2015-16 Football League Cup. Liverpool beats Stoke City and City beats Everton in the Semi-Finals of  56th League Cup. Both teams draw the match in Full time and extra time. Then in Penalties Man City beat The Reds by 3-1 to claim the title.

Capital One Football League Cup Winners

during the Capital One Cup Final match between Liverpool and Manchester City at Wembley Stadium on February 28, 2016 in London, England.

The Football League Cup or Capital One Cup is a reputed English Football tournament which was established in 1960. There are total 72 teams which belong from The Football League along with 20 teams from the Premier League. There are total 5 rounds in the competition which are followed by the two-leg semi-finals and finals. The first ever Capital One Cup title was won by Aston Villa when they defeated Rotherham United 3-2 on aggregate. Over the years, this contest has gained huge popularity which has attracted fans and critics to focus on this tournament which brings together lower and upper-class English football teams.

Capital One Cup 2014-15 was won by Chelsea when they defeated Tottenham 2-0. This year, the final match would be played by Manchester City and Liverpool. Looking at the statistics, Liverpool is the leading Capital One winner as they have won the title 8 times. On the other hand, Manchester City has won the title only 3 times. But looking at the current form, Manchester City has a good team which is capable of turning the game at any point. The mid-field of this squad is their biggest strength. Liverpool is struggling to regain their lost form under the guidance of their new manager.

Teams like Aston Villa and Chelsea have won the Football League Cup 5 times while Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspurs have bagged this prestigious cup 4 times. On 28th February, 2016 the final of the 2015-16 Capital One Cup would be played at Wembley Stadium, London. Both the teams would be struggling to win the title. The final match would be telecasted in different countries across the world. Let us see if Liverpool increases their count to 9 titles or Manchester City demolishes their hopes!

League Cup Winners List 1960-2016:

TeamWinnersRunners-upYears wonYears runner-up
Liverpool841981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1995, 2001, 2003, 20121978, 1987, 2005, 2016
Aston Villa531961, 1975, 1977, 1994, 19961963, 1971, 2010
Chelsea521965, 1998, 2005, 2007, 20151972, 2008
Manchester United441992, 2006, 2009, 20101983, 1991, 1994, 2003
Tottenham Hotspur441971, 1973, 1999, 20081982, 2002, 2009, 2015
Nottingham Forest421978, 1979, 1989, 19901980, 1992
Manchester City411970, 1976, 2014, 20161974
Leicester City321964, 1997, 20001965, 1999
Arsenal251987, 19931968, 1969, 1988, 2007, 2011
Norwich City221962, 19851973, 1975
Birmingham City211963, 20112001
Wolverhampton Wanderers201974, 1980
West Bromwich Albion1219661967, 1970
Middlesbrough1220041997, 1998
Queens Park Rangers1119671986
Leeds United1119681996
Stoke City1119721964
Luton Town1119881989
Sheffield Wednesday1119911993
Swindon Town101969
Oxford United101986
Blackburn Rovers102002
Swansea City102013