Bangladesh 15-Man Squad & Schedule for Champions Trophy 2017

Bangladesh came out with their team ICC Champions Trophy pretty well. They also included best of their players available on their side to be included in the ICC Champions Trophy to be commenced this June.

Bangladesh has included pacer Shafiul Islam as a part of their 15 men squad for the tournament. Shafiul played his most recent ODI against England in the October 2016. His layoff was due to the Hamstring injury that he attained earlier. Now is reported to have been recovered and would soon join the squad including some of the star players such as Mustafir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal and Mahmudullah. 

Bangladesh Squad for Champions Trophy 2017

Bangladesh was also able to make it to the quarter-final of the World Cup 2015 where they lost against India. On the other hand, apart from losses, Bangladesh have also been able to show the potential that they got by winning the series against South Africa, India and Pakistan from 2015 to 2016.

Bangladesh currently has two of its most amazing players – Shakib Al Hasan in Kolkata Knight Riders and Mustafizur in Sunrisers Hyderabad playing in the Indian Premier League. They are expected to join in the ICC Champions Trophy squad as soon as their respective domestic teams finish in the Indian Premier League. While others in the team are set to depart earlier for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 in England.

Bangladesh will start off with warm-up matches against Pakistan on 27th May at Edgbaston and another warm-up match against India on 30th May at The Oval.

After the commencement of the tournament, Bangladesh would have a long way to go to the semi-finals and the finals. Bangladesh would initially face England on the 1st June at The Oval. After that, Bangladesh will compete against the mighty Australia on 5th June at The Oval again itself. The first match would a Day match and the second match will be a day-night match respectively.

The Third match that Bangladesh will play would be against New Zealand on 9th June at the Cardiff, which will be a Day Match. The performances in these matches that Bangladesh presents will hold them a position at the semi-finals and the finals accordingly.

Bangladesh Schedule for Champions Trophy 2017 

Warm Up Matches

  • 27 May – Bangladesh v Pakistan, Edgbaston
  • 30 May – Bangladesh vs India, The Oval

Tournament Matches –

  • 1 June – England v Bangladesh, The Oval (Day)
  • 5 June – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (Day /Night)
  • 9 June – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff (Day)

Bangladesh Squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017:

Mashrafe Mortaza, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Mehedi Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Sunzamul Islam, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed