Australia 15 Men Squad & Schedule for Champions Trophy 2017

Australia came out to reveal their 15-man squad for Champions Trophy to be held in June. The seamers Mitchell Starc and Chris Lynn are reported to be present in the 15-man squad with a  total of 4 pacers in their bowling lineup.

Mitchell Starc and Chris Lynn were known to be injured but they are expected to get fit as there is a lot of time to go for them for their first match on June 2.

Australia 15 Men Squad & Schedule for Champions Trophy 2017

With pacers John Hastings and James Pattinson included in the squad, James Faulkner has been dropped even him being an all-rounder.

All-rounder duos Marcus Stoinis and Moises Henriques have been selected while Australia could prove out to be tougher this time provided being 4 of the strongest pacers included in the squad.

Batsmen Usman Khwaja, Shawn Marsh and Peter Handscomb, all have played ODIs really well this year are dropped along with George Bailey. Aaron Finch, on the other hand, is selected and will Open with David Warner in the top of the squad.

On the other hand, Faulkner lost his position in the squad in 2016, including the ODI tri-series in the Caribbean past June. He took 25 wickets at the beginning of the tour of Sri Lanka past year.

Hastings, who was rather unlucky to be dropped is sure to miss out a place into the ODI squad to be played with New Zealand in December. The right-armed batsman has vast experience in Home Country and was able to gather 3-21 in 10 overs in the most recent ODI of Australia.

Lynn is also a recently debuted player who has an experience of only one ODI so far, is in the owe of certain injuries that surrounded him so far making him unable to play 50-over matches for long since 2013 final.

Australian players who are not a part of Indian Premier League right now will depart for England much sooner than the players playing under Indian Premier League. The players playing under Indian Premier league are set to depart only after their respective teams lose out or till they finish in the league.

The ICC Champions trophy tournament will be played in the UK from June 1 till June 18, where Australia would be grouped along with England with others such as Bangladesh and New Zealand as well. While others such as India, Pakistan and South Africa are stuffed in group B.

Australian Squad for ICC Champions Trophy –

Steve Smith (Captain), David Warner (Vice Captain), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

Match schedule of Australia in ICC Champions Trophy –

Warm-up matches –

26 May – Australia v Sri Lanka

29 May – Australia v Pakistan, Edgbaston

Main Tournament Matches –

2 June – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (Day)

5 June – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (Day /Night)

10 June – England v Australia, Edgbaston (Day)